Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen,

I am very new to owning my motorcycle (2008 Kawasaki Ninja 250R) and I fear that I did not winterize the bike properly (or at all) this past winter. I put it in the garage where it sat relatively untouched for 3 to 4 months. Now it is getting warm and I'd like to ride the bike, however it will not start. The battery is fully charged (I got a trickle charger and charged it up) but it just doesn't seem to wanna get goin... it makes an effort, starts up and then fizzles out after about 2 or 3 seconds.

I realize now that I should have winterized the bike properly (and will next winter I can assure you) but I am left with a bike that won't start. What is the best way for me to rectify this? I spoke with a friend who mentioned cyphoning out the gas and putting in some sort of engine cleaner with just a bit of gas... but I wanted to check you guys (the forum).

I really will appreciate any help you guys can give me on this. Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
141 Posts
well first thing you could try is adding some seafoam i seem to read that alot when it comes to unwinterizing the 250 but from the sounds of it you didn't really winterize it at all and this could mean you have to clean your carbs which there are threads on how to do it if seafoam doesn't work but definatly get rid of old gas and throw some new in. Good Luck

This Seems like a good writ up on how to do it: http://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/Cleaning_the_carbs_1

·
Registered
5 Posts
another option

remove the side cover next to the air filter remove the airfilter..

with the choke on