Losing power/stuttering at at mid to high rpm's - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-18-2011, 10:28 PM Thread Starter

Losing power/stuttering at at mid to high rpm's

I have a 2009 ninja with 2700 miles on it. I bought it new and have kept up maintenance by the book.

Recently, it has started to lose power and stutter (best way I can think to explain it) at around 7k and up when rolling hard on the throttle (accelerating quickly). It will lose power then pick up again and will do this over and over again until I roll of the throttle.

This will happen in any gear when accelerating hard but will also do it when trying to speed up past 55/60 whether hard on the throttle or not.

I have noticed that it is worse on a warm day, on cold days it rarely happens.

I am new to motorcycles and mechanics in general, I cleaned the air filter but have been trying to find a good place to start since that did not alleviate the problem. Any help that one might be able to provide would be much appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-19-2011, 10:22 AM

Possible carburation issue. Have you done any mods? Clean the carb and check the spark plug.

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-19-2011, 11:33 AM

How old is the fuel in the tank? You bought this bike new in 2009 and it only has 2700 miles on it. This tells me that this bike has sat a good bit in the time you have owned it. If this sounds accurate, you could be needing to do some carb cleaning. You can try to run some STP fuel system cleaner to see if you can clear up the problem. If this is not effective you'll probably need to pull the carbs and clean the main jet, Pilot jet, as well as the passages in the carb body.

This link is very helpful and informative for doing a carb cleaning job.
http://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/Cleaning_the_carbs_1

Come and play.. Come and play...
Forget about the movement...!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement