Project Bike - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013, 08:15 PM Thread Starter

Project Bike

So, I've just bought a 2000 Ninja 250 that doesn't run to fix up for my senior project. I'm in high school and just got into riding and decided this would be a good way to familiarize myself with maintenance, and just motorcycle parts in general. I've got little experience with engines which is another reason I'm doing this project, I want to learn. The bike cost me $170 and according to the previous owner was running until about three or four months ago. It seems like the engine has seized and I'm probably going to need to put a new one in it. The battery is good, but the engine wont turn over. I'm trying to complete this under $1000. Any ideas on what may have happened to the engine, ways to fix it, or tips on what to look for as I take on this project would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013, 08:40 PM

does the bike have the original instrument cluster and if so, how many miles does it have on it?

The engine seizing could be a number of things. The easiest thing you can do is open up the top end and learn how to check the valves. They should either be incredibly tight or possibly broken. As far as engines go, checking and adjusting the valves is probably the easiest thing to do. Doesn't necessarily mean it's an easy thing.

As far as replacing the engine, they're not impossible to find and ebay always has some listed. A good enough one to get it running again will be about $200, and a good enough engine to keep it running and rideable for a few years will probably cost about $400-$500.

If the engine won't even turn over, you could try replacing the spark plugs and at least check and see if the bike is even getting a spark through the plugs. That's probably the very first thing you should do actually.