Rattle/Knock at low rpm when accellerating - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 11:01 AM Thread Starter

Rattle/Knock at low rpm when accellerating

I've been riding for just 9 months here and have a 2009 250r that's developed a knock or rattle... it happens at low RPM at low speed when accelerating... when the engine is under torque.

It seems to come from behind the lower left side panel toward the back of the bike... just in front of the rear wheel... near my left heel. I'm thinking it's either a problem with the sprocket or the tranny, but wanted to get some thoughts from some more experienced riders.

The engine runs and revs fine... it purrs in idle in neutral and revs up to 6k/7k in neutral without problem... nor does it have any trouble holding rpm in neutral.

What do you all think?

Don't Mount Up If You Don't Gear Up
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 11:19 AM

How many miles on the bike?
Do you maintenance the chain often?
Is your chain loose, dirty, rusty or have kinks in it?
Does it look something like this?

How to understand Motorcycle Chains, Wear and Maintenance...
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 11:42 AM Thread Starter

Great questions! The bikes got 13k miles... it had a full maintenance when I got it with 9k... and an oil change done by me at 12k... seems to be holding oil fine.

I'm less dilligent about chain maintenance... it's been about a month and a half since I last cleaned, lubed and guaged the chain... admittedly, that's not good given the AZ weather encourages daily use... the chain has some play, but it's not sagging like in your pic.

Are you thinking i may have lost some tension... chain could be binding or skipping?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-11-2013, 12:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by azkwest250r View Post