Is the 250 right for my first bike? - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2011, 07:13 PM Thread Starter

Is the 250 right for my first bike?

Hello all. I am brand new to motorcycles. I have relatively no experience with bikes. I have ridden an ATV so I am a bit familiar with shifting but that is where my experience ends. I am craving a new bike so bad because they look fun and I need a reliable second vehicle, and I have an opportunity to get a 2010 ninja 250r for $3600 with only 600 miles. Im ready to jump on it but I have some things Im worried about.

The bike will be used mostly for school(10 mile highway trip) and going on short trips around the block. Im not too overly concerned with power because I have a mitsubishi evo that goes like hell(when actually running lol, hence why I need a second vehicle) but at the same time due to the fact I do have a fast car having a bike that goes like a snail is not too appeasing either. Now from what Ive read this bike has decent performance figures and is probably a lot quicker than most cars off the line but I would still like input from actual owners.

So to sum up I dont really need the bike to rocket down the straights because my car takes care of that job but I also dont want a bike that feels slower than a civic. I also plan to take the bike on twisty roads every few weekends to have some real fun with it.

So right now this is the bike Im leaning towards, though I have a chance to also pick up a used zx6e I feel this is probably too much bike for me at the moment since I will be learning from scratch on it.

What are your opinions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2011, 09:30 AM
"A"

For a first bike, $3600 is a good chunk of $$, IMO. Pre-2008 (previous generation) Ninja 250 are easily found under $2000 and likely in decent shape. I just picked up a 2004 model with 78xx mi. for $850: