Taking the leap - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

Question Taking the leap

Howzit!
Okay I'm an older male person (53 yrs.) and am looking to get a 09 Kawasaki Ninja 250r to use as a commuter bike to and from work which is a distance of about 6 miles or 12 miles round trip max. I currently drive a 04 Tacoma Truck and when gas gets to $4.00 a gallon I'll be screw'd! I'm a newbie stand 5'-4" weigh in at 140 lbs. (but I'm dieting to 130 lbs.) and I'm looking at the Ninja 250r. One big reason I'm looking at the 250r is the seat height and me being of a rather shorter stature my ride height flat footed would be about 28" it seems the 250r is the best choice. Also from what I've heard and surfed the net the 250r it is by far the best for any beginner rider.

So here is the problem and what I'm looking down at before I make the leap if I ever do. Is the Ninja 250r the right bike for me? Would I be able to stand the bike while still? Is what I'm doing (using a bike for pure commuter purposes) a good idea? And how do I convince my wife who by the way gives me the "stink eye" anytime I mention this whole deal cause she's afraid I'm going to get killed the validity of all this.

Funny but I actually went down to the dealership with her to look at a BMW FG650 but I was totally blown away on the size of it. That thing is BIG!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 04:13 PM

I'm also 5'4", you'll have no problem on this bike. Depends on your inseam though. I'm short and it still works out. If you wear regular shoes to ride it's a lot easier too since you can bend your toes and ankle.

The Ninja is a good commuter and should do you good. Standing the bike up shouldn't be a problem, you could always "half-ass" it.

As for convincing the wife... i am not qualified to give any advice here.

Good luck
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-28-2009, 05:08 PM