is this a good deal? - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-30-2009, 09:35 AM Thread Starter

is this a good deal?

i am thinking about getting this as a first bike, since i am new to riding and all. its a 97 ninja 250r, with about 17k miles, i think it was wrecked or something, but i have pics, he wants only 500 for it. is this a good deal? also, what is missing on the bike besides the front plastic and mirrors? and where could i get these cheap? thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00792.jpg (73.8 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg DSC00794.jpg (71.0 KB, 12 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-30-2009, 10:16 AM
Head Janitor

It was wrecked? How bad was the damage? Does it have a clean title? You can buy most of the replacement parts on Ebay.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-31-2009, 08:20 AM

Have someone with knowledge of bikes ride the bike and see how it handles and if it tracks in a strait line or does it pull to one side. This plus an inpection of the bike will tell him if the frame has been bent from a wreck. If all looks good with the frame and if the engine sounds good then I think that $500 is a good price for a first time fixer-up bike. Like Vtec44 said you can get very good deals on ebay for replacement parts. All parts are interchangeable for years 1988 thru 2007.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-31-2009, 01:50 PM

It would be a great bike, if it's mechanically sound.

As stated, have someone with some motorcycle experience go with you to check it out. If possible, have the owner keep the bike cold so you can see how hard it is to start when cold. Your experienced companion should be able to check for the obvious problems and give you the verdict. You can also take it to a trusted mechanic if you know one.