Question about my Choke - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 05-14-2013, 02:57 PM Thread Starter

Question Question about my Choke

I bought my 250 a few weeks ago and me and my fiancé have been riding it. (I am new to riding, he's been riding since he was five). I am currently taking my safety course and so I decided I felt I had enough experience to take it out onto the road to work last nite. It was around 45-50 degrees F outside, and I figured id need to turn the choke on to start. I turned it on and let the bike warm up for a few minutes, hopped on and proceeded down the road. I went not even a block and my bike stalled in the middle of the road. It wouldn't start. I had to apply the choke again. Turned it off...pressed throttle...bike stalls AGAIN. So I ended up riding to work with the Choke half on (I did research and discovered this is a no no, but I didn't know what else to do...) I rode to work about 3 miles away. So at least it wasn't far. On way home from work. Same thing happened!! Bike stalled when I was pulling into an intersection and that was even with the choke partially on so I had to put it on halfway again (I did keep an eye on my rpms and they stayed around 7000 going 55mph). So Im wondering if this is a problem? I started it today in my garage in neutral, left it warm up some, turned off choke. it idled. gave it some throttle....stalled. same thing. stalled. I finally discovered that if I ease very VERY slowly on throttle it will revv without stalling, but as soon as a pull back a little harder it stalls. Is this normal?? I don't remember it acting like this the last 3-4 times I rode it and my fiancé said it don't sound right.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 06-04-2013, 08:52 PM

Was this a brand-new bike, or even a used one that has been on the showroom floor for a long time?

My bet is one of the carbs is dirty or clogged.

A quick test: