Oil leaking after drop - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-24-2009, 06:57 PM Thread Starter

Oil leaking after drop

Hi all..

This is my first time posting here. I recently purchased a used 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 250 [two weeks ago] and have been practicing on it around the neighborhood (Woodbridge, VA) every night. I Love it!!!

Yesterday when I was trying to park it in the garage I dropped it on the ground [on it's right side where the rear brake is]. Since the bike was off there was little or no damage to the body. As I lift it up I noticed that there was some oil [or may be gasoline] that came out of it. I wiped it off and left.

This morning when I went to my garage I noticed very strong gasoline smell. I saw some gasoline/oil in the area around the the bike too. Since then I am not able to turn the bike on. When I try to turn the bike ON, bike tries but doesn't start. I looked inside the gas tank and there is plenty of gasoline in there.

I also noticed that there were three cables hanging out of the bike. Since this is my first bike, I have no clue what these cables are for. I am guessing that these cables are for oil and dropping the bike may have unfastened them. I am attaching a picture of these cables. I want to take it to a motorcycle shop but do not have a truck or a trailer to haul it to. I may have to rent one eventually but before then I would like to see if anyone in this forum knows anything about these cables.

Any thoughts on these cables, or advice on what I should do would be awesome and greatly appreciated.
-Waji
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00004.JPG (36.4 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg DSC00005.JPG (39.0 KB, 18 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-25-2009, 12:41 AM

The lines you have outlined in the photos are breather/vent lines for the fuel tank and carburetors. They should be routed behind the engine but are not the cause of your problem...