Getting a bike before college, good or bad idea? - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-14-2012, 07:32 PM Thread Starter

Getting a bike before college, good or bad idea?

Hi, I'm a fresh graduate from highschool, and heading to a college 2 hours away.

Now, I'm planning to purchase the kawasaki 250 ninja, Used. With money saved from 4 years of odd jobs I'm willing to spend about $1,300-2,000 on a bike. Ive (seperately) factored in licensing, gear (level 3),and insurance. And still beats any rust bucket of a car with more problems than a hollywood popstar.

But...This is upstate and the cold months will shut down my bike, (storage with some family near by). Eventhough ill be stuck, it makes no difference if i just didnt buy it in the first place, and i can take the bus. Not too concerned but Another bad thing is that my parents will go ape, espcially since they are in the medical field. Regardless, I have a passion for almost anything with a motor, I also used to road bike until I outgrew my bike stopped cycling since my dad had to quit (back problems).

So I'd love to ride, not for chick apeal (ill take it tho), just to ride.

So is it a good idea? I think so, no rush to a car, Ill have a boat load of time to carb clean and maitnance, ill have my cousins help,(and supplies like tools, garage) and he owns a 600 ninja and is 20mins away from campus.

Any thoughts?

(Sorry for typos)
Thanks for reading

-"Leising"

Sent from my C771 using Motorcycle.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-16-2012, 10:26 AM