Completely new rider - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 05:35 AM Thread Starter

Completely new rider

Hello! I just started riding. In fact, I've only gotten to practice one time so far. I am going to take a BRC, but I'm thinking that I should practice in parking lots for a few weeks before I jump into the class.

I didn't have any problems getting the bike to move (I didn't stall it). But, I am so new that even taking my feet off the ground was scary. Did it!

I dropped the bike when I attempted my first turn. But, got back on and was able to ride in circles around the parking lot (only in first gear) by the end of the first day...

I'm thinking I need to get used to shifting into at least 2nd or 3rd gear and practice braking before I take the BRC class.

Any thoughts or suggestions on how to get more comfortable with riding?

Thanks! Excited to learn...just a little nervous.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2012, 07:49 AM

welcome to the club, lol I'm a new rider myself. I just got my bike in February and I just took my beginners class this past weekend. I think that will help more than anything.

Just a few things I've picked up and dealing with as I'm learning also.

The clutch - they taught us about clutch control. I was always taught from driving a stick that you can't ride a clutch cuz you'll burn it up. So I tried to get the bike going quick, but I learned that a motorcycle has what is called a wet clutch and you can't burn it up like a stick shift. They had us move the bike with clutch control like the first half of the day, on and off the clutch, moving the bike slow.

I rode in the parking lot also and moved to side streets. Practicing the shifting and braking and stopping before I moved out into traffic.