hello everyone from fremanNK250 advice needed - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-03-2013, 09:12 PM Thread Starter

hello everyone from fremanNK250 advice needed

I've had a 2012 ninja 250 for about 6 months now and it just doesn't give a thrill as much as it did before I still love riding but I'm looking for a little more in my 250 any ideas for horsepower and apperance? Anyone fabricated a longer swingarm that can walk me through it? Open to ideas I'm new to these fourms so bare wit me.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 06-04-2013, 06:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fremanKN250 View Post
...I've had a 2012 ninja 250 for about 6 months now and it just doesn't give a thrill as much as it did before I still love riding but I'm looking for a little more in my 250 any ideas for horsepower and apperance?

If you feel you need more horsepower, ask yourself, what exactly do you want the bike to do and "How much you want to spend?"
'Is the bike used for commuting or racing?"
"Are you willing to trade good gas mileage for crappy gas mileage and unnecessary extra maintenance and work?"

Sprocket changes take advantage of the HP that's on tap in the stock Ninja. Start there. 15/43 has been proven to provide a nice balance of acceleration and top end speed. More than a few racers run 15/43 or 15/42 so they don't have to shift as much, just keep the rpms up.

Those who ride freeway like to reduce the RPM speed as much as possible and still be able to have passing power in the top gear if need be. As a frequent Hwy rider, I use 15/41 and still outpace most traffic easy (55-70 mph posted speed limit).

15/41 @ 8k = 76.3 mph in 6th gear
15/42 @ 8k = 74.5 mph in 6th gear
15/43 @ 8k = 72.8 mph in 6th gear
15/44 @ 8k = 71.1 mph in 6th gear
15/45 @ 8k = 69.6 mph in 6th gear