new rider in fort worth tx. - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-10-2013, 10:11 AM Thread Starter

new rider in fort worth tx.

Hello everyone, my name is John im 18 year old and basically looking to get my first bike. After a little bit of research i have decided to go with a 250 ninja.

I have not purchase the bike yet, BUT i found a bike on the local craigslist for a 09 ninja 250 for 1500 price is extremely low and i feel like its too good to be true? any advice on what I should do.

also i already went through all the motorcycle course and got my license. also i read through the thread on what to check for when buying used, that definitely gave me an idea. But to be honest with you guys i dont know shit about motorcycle so i really dont know what to look for.

any suggestion

also he's is open for allowing me to go on a test drive. but since i have no riding experience i really have no idea what is good what is bad, and what is normal and what isnt.

so if anyone could help me out please let me know!!!
and once again hello everyone!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-10-2013, 11:47 AM

Hi John and welcome to the forum.

As to your questions of what to look for in a used bike, check out this thread:

https://www.250r.net/forum/showthread.php?t=2770

My opening post is a detailed rundown of what to look for.

Good luck and hope you get that bike soon.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-10-2013, 12:14 PM

adding to what Slick said, I think one of the best things you can do is take a friend/relative that knows about bikes and owns a bike with you. They can test ride it for you and they'll be able to give you a lot better details than the seller will admit

You can also try and get a local motorcycle mechanic to go with you. You'd be surprised, many will say "yes" because they'll want your service whenever you do get a bike.