Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum banner

New to All of This but want to build a Streetfighter

2K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Trentazilla 
#1 ·
Hey my name is Grimm and I’m a tattoo artist and I just came up on a 2000 Kawasaki Ninja 250 for free from one of my coworkers. He says the engine is good but something is up with the wiring and it’s not getting spark. I have very very basic knowledge of engines and bikes, although I’ve always loved them and had a huge respect for the culture. I’m not much or a street bike guy, I’m more into cafe racers, bobbers, and choppers. So I figure I’m gonna turn it into a Ninja Streetfighter.

Where would you guys suggest starting? I ordered a battery that will be here on Monday, but should I just start tearing it apart and build it back up with all new parts?

Attachments

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
(edit) lol, just looked at your pictures again, not really much more to strip down, is there? *facepalm*

Hey Grimm.
You have likely seen this, but if not, it is an amazing resource.

https://faq.ninja250.org/wiki/Ninja250_Howto

My personal choice would be to strip it down completely, (fairings, tank, seat. fenders, etc.). I found putting all the fasteners back in place on the parts with a piece of duct tape is easier than putting them back into the frame (fewer things to snag you).
Then label all the connectors on the wiring harness (both sides), take a bunch of pictures (like, a BUNCH, from wide angle to extreme closeup), unplug everything, and remove the harness.
Carefully strip off the miles of electrical tape, (you can use a knife, gently) use a little fresh tape or a tiny cable tie at all the points where the bundles of wires branch off.
Clean all the connections, look for broken/frayed wires, and use the Howto/Google to figure out how to test the components.
I'd be willing to bet you don't need all new parts.
You may be able to simplify the wiring quite a bit as well.