I'm a newbie and I think I bit off more than I can chew. - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-18-2016, 06:34 AM Thread Starter

I'm a newbie and I think I bit off more than I can chew.

Hey everybody, My name's Mike

As the title states, I'm new to the forum and need some help.

Let me start out as saying I just purchased my first real bike, it's an 03 250r. I say it's my first REAL bike because I have been riding one of those 150cc ROMA scooters that look like a small ninja (if you want a laugh, I can upload a pic of my big ass and that tiny little bike).

So for a little more background, I've been on craigslist for a few weeks trying to find a starter bike to learn the clutch on. I know the mechanics of it and drive a manual car so shifting as a concept is far from a new skill for me. I found the one I ended up buying on craigslist. It looks pretty, a few scratches, missing turn signal, etc. The guy says it has a knock in the engine. He took it on a trade and only rode it once. He says it fires up and is drive-able...Cool!

So I rent a trailer (I'm not getting on the road with a bike I know nothing about) and drive out to his house. I see the bike, I'm actually impressed by how clean it looks. So her fires it up and I hear the knocking he's talking about. I've seen enough youtube videos saying this is common so I don't worry too much about that. He lives on a gravel road, but I need to at least ride this thing before I buy it, so I hop on and ride on up the road. I can tell it's not the most powerful, i'm ok with that. It seems to shift well, isn't smoking or anything and while not the nicest, seems to be a suitable thing for me to learn on. So I head back to his house, talk him down from $900 to $600 and load 'er up in the trailer.