[2008+] Needing a Word from the Wise - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-25-2014, 09:27 AM Thread Starter

Needing a Word from the Wise

Dec 30th, I purchased a 2008 Ninja 250r, my first bike. The owner before me was one who clearly didn't spend much time caring for the bike. I've cleaned her up the best I can, but now I'm more concerned with the bikes internal integrity, as I feel it should run more smoothly. It clearly needs an oil change, brake fluids look pretty dark, it sputters a bit while I'm warming it up, and the throttle is sometimes a bit unresponsive. I'm completely new to bikes and engines so it's probably apparent that my knowledge is limited, but to me it seems like I need to get my carbs cleaned. It has 3,300 miles so my question is what do you who have some experience think I should have done to get the bike back to perfect working order, and what all of that should I try to tackle on my own instead of paying a third party?

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-25-2014, 10:04 AM

You could use a this thing called seafoam. Google it's amazing! Other then that clean the air filter, change spark plug, oil, break fluid. Also check for cracked hoses. You can do all of this yourself. If it still runs crappy take to a shop and have them look at it. But make sure you tell them what you do first before they charge you for a new plug and stuff.
Good luck and we love pics here. Let me know how I turns out.

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-25-2014, 01:38 PM

I wouldn't use seafoam, and if you do then only use a small amount, as I've seen it do more damage than good on carbs. The carbs are pretty delicate.