Trying to understand shimming, jetting, air filters etc - Kawasaki Ninja 250R Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 09:38 AM Thread Starter

Trying to understand shimming, jetting, air filters etc

Hi,

I'm new to motorcycles and want to do some cheap/free mods.

Also, i don't know much about how motorcycle works and have a lot of quesitions. I'm hoping some of the veterans/experienced guys here will take a few minutes out to explain it. I'd really appreciate it

What exactly is "shimming the needles" ? How does it improve the performance? Are there different settings we need to choose when we "shim the needles" ?

Is "shimming the needles" and "rejetting"/"jetting" the same thing? If not, what is "rejetting"/"jetting" ? Do we need to buy some kit to get "jetting/rejetting" ?

People also talk about getting an air filter like K&N or something similar at the same time. What does the air filter do?

Also, i've heard something about stock setting being a bit on the lean side. Is that something related?

What does the intake snorkel do? And how does removing it help?

Also, are there any more similar/cheap mods which improve performance ?

I know this is a lot of questions . But i'm hoping some of the veterans here will take a few minutes out to explain it. I'd really appreciate it.

Last edited by IndianDude; 06-24-2012 at 10:20 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-25-2012, 04:01 PM Thread Starter

I think my original questions were too broad for anyone to answer. So I've done a bit of research on some of the above topics and i was wondering if anyone could give me feedback as to whether i got it right or not.